Plugged Into Content

Consumption is all the rage these days. It’s all about the Buzzfeed articles and YouTube videos and Netflix marathons and Spotify streams. People are constantly on their phones and on their computers consuming and creating content; some informational and some not so much. The point is, we live in a content obsessed world and, while at times this may seem troublesome, it is the everyday reality of society. Like they say, “If you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em,” although, maybe “join ‘em” responsibly.

Photo courtesy of compfight.com

Photo courtesy of compfight.com

Not that I have room to talk…

As a member of this technological crazed society, I am more than familiar with the content that’s out there and I embrace it almost fully. As a consumer I’m obsessed with watching videos on YouTube, checking my Tumblr dashboard, seeing what’s trending on Yahoo! and watching hours upon hours of Netflix on a regular basis. I can watch 3-5 hours of YouTube videos in a single sitting. I love watching and laughing at my favorite YouTubers like Shane Dawson, Tobuscus, Smosh, iiSuperwomanii, Dan and Phil and many more. Also, I’ll find myself going to check my Tumblr notifications and wind up reblogging 10 photos in the process.

While I definitely am obsessed with these forms of content, my biggest thing, of course, is music. I follow several music blogs on Twitter, Tumblr and Facebook and I purchase music more often than most sane people. In 2013 alone I purchased a total of 58 albums and EPs either online, in-store or in a pre-order. This means I’ve probably spent around $600 in a year consuming just music. But music is my passion and is essential content for what I want to do in life.

I want to live my life creatively

I’m the type of person that thrives on creating things whether it’s music, poems, blogs, vlogs, presentations or whatever. It’s my passion for not only music but for creation that has pushed me into my current field of journalism. As I said in my last blog, I want to make content that is not only entertaining, but meaningful. I want to make things that mean something to me, but are also things that others may be able to relate to. I seem to have a strong point in writing feature stories. I love talking about fun and random things to do with shows I’ve gone to, awesome new bands I’ve discovered and the crazy adventures I’ve experienced because of music. I want my content to speak to the fans that live for the music in their veins.

So how does this affect my personal brand?

I think this is pretty self explanatory. My passion is music and the fans of music, so content that embraces that passion reflects my personal brand as a die-hard music fan. To keep pushing this image I want to keep blogging and telling people my stories and tell them about awesome music. I may even want to pick my vlogging back up. I didn’t enjoy is as much as my blogs, but it is a fun way to reach more people. I think I could be a great voice for bands that aren’t loud enough and for fans who feel belittled by society. I believe in those people wholeheartedly. Like I said in class I want to be a voice for the voiceless. I want to be more active in making fun, engaging and meaningful content to help make that voice heard.

Yeah, I'm hardcore.

Yeah, I’m hardcore.

I have limits though

Like I said at the beginning of this blog, the obsession for content can be troublesome and there are just a few things when it comes to being a consumer and creator of content that I will not engage in. First the obvious: I will not sit on my phone looking at blogs, obsessing over my blog and checking social media when I’m out with friends or family. I understand that having an online presence is important, but it is not more important than real people.

Now the less obvious: Live tweeting is something I’ve been asked to do several times and in most cases is not a big deal to me, but when I’m at a concert or a performance of some sort I most certainly will not be live tweeting; posting to the internet is only okay before the show, in between sets and after the show. To me, it’s rude. Someone is up on stage giving their all for you and you wind up spending the whole time on your phone. Also, if I’m there to write about an experience, then I’m going to experience it. How can I write about said experience if I spent the whole time on my phone? Everything is better when you are watching it in real time instead of through a lens.

Photo Courtesy of compfight.com

Photo Courtesy of compfight.com

Last but not least…

Here is some of my favorite sites that I like to look at:

Property of Zack– a music blog based through Tumblr that posts alternative rock news, feature stories, album reviews and more. I probably use them the most for keeping up-to-date on all my Alt-rock news.

Highlight Magazine– This one is a lot like Property of Zack, but also offers content in an actual magazine format. Plus, I write for them so yeah.

Spotify- Music streaming software that offers music from just about any band you can think of. I don’t use this on a regular basis since I already have a pretty awesome library of music, but I love using it for album reviews. It’s easy for listening to a complete album and saves me the burden of having to purchase the music.

Rock it Out Blog (YouTube)– YouTube vlog from Consequence of Sound that keeps you updated on rock news and addresses concerns in the rock music community as well as offering a dose of opinion and humor.

…So that’s pretty much it! If you know any awesome music blogs I should be following let me know in the comments. If you like what you see here like and follow this blog. Also, follow me on Twitter and Tumblr!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Plugged Into Content

  1. […] I wanted to be sure I didn’t leave anyone out when I was linking to everyone’s posts about content from Tuesday. (I may have gotten a little hyperactive with hyperlinks.) […]

Leave a Reply

