Concert Survival Guide #3: Warped Tour Edition

Hey! I know it’s been like a week since we last talked, but I promise it was for good reasons. This last week I got to attend both The Vans Warped Tour and MONUMENTOUR with Fall Out Boy and Paramore and it was amazing!!! First things first, though, I want to talk to you guys about my favorite summertime tradition: Warped Tour. This being my ninth Warped show attended, I’d say I’m pretty knowledgeable in this field. Here is how you can best survive your day at the Warped Tour:

1. Be prepared

This is what my bag looked like for Warped Tour. I packed CDs and other items to have signed, Pop Tarts, paper and pen, sunscreen, water, my wallet and my ticket.

This is what my bag looked like for Warped Tour. I packed CDs and other items to have signed, Pop Tarts, paper and pen, sunscreen, water, my wallet and my ticket.

For an all day event like Warped Tour, preparedness is key. Make sure you have everything you need for the show before you walk out the door. Seeking autographs? Bring CDs or other items for bands to sign. Have long ridiculous hair? Hair-ties are your best friend. Wanting to stay hydrated and avoid hunger? Bring your own water bottle (you can purchase one at a gas station prior) and pack small snacks to get you through the day. Also bring your own sunglasses so you don’t have to spend any money on them, bring a pen and paper to write down the schedule rather than purchasing one and, for crying out loud, bring and wear sunscreen!

2. Dress for comfort, not for style

I see this every year: girls in cute tops and dresses with their pretty sandals and their hair nice and curled. Warped Tour is not the place to worry too much about looking cute. Wear clothing that will keep you cool and that you are okay with possibly having ruined. Also, wear sensible shoes! No flip-flops, no fancy sandals. Tennis shoes are the best route. They’ll keep your feet from getting sore or burning on the asphalt. If you’re really having fun at Warped, you’ll be a sweaty, hot mess by the end, so don’t wear clothes that will hinder you from that.

3. Arrive early, but not too early

It’s good to get to the venue early enough that you can get in and figure out the schedule before any bands start playing, but there’s no need to arrive more than an hour or two before the doors open. This year I walked past the end of the line and found a reasonable spot in front of the gates, so seriously don’t try and get there before the sun comes out.

4. Be kind to your wallet

This is the only shirt I purchased. I also bought two CDs and a cheeseburger in case you were curious.

This is the only shirt I purchased. I also bought two CDs and a cheeseburger in case you were curious.

Warped Tour is a concert experience, not a shopping spree. There is tons of merch there for sale and you should definitely buy some, but don’t buy more than you can carry and don’t break the bank. I get it. In the past I’ve spent close to $100 at Warped Tour before, but in recent years I’ve figured out ways to cut back on my Warped budget. If you want to spend less, here’s how:

–          Bring a set amount of cash for merch and don’t spend more.

–          Only buy concessions if you are truly hungry or thirsty, but bring what you can from home.

–          Have in mind what you want to buy before you arrive at the show and stick to getting only the most important things.

5. Meet new people…yes including bands.

I met the band This Wild Life along with Saves The Day and The Maine.

I met the band This Wild Life along with Saves The Day and The Maine.

Don’t be afraid to talk to new people at Warped Tour. There are all kinds of interesting people there that are super nice and make great concert buddies. On top of that, take advantage of Warped Tour’s anything goes vibe. A lot of times bands are just walking around and there is unlimited potential to meet one of your favorite bands. Don’t be afraid to say hi or ask for a picture. Trust me, you’ll regret it if you don’t.

6. Water, water and more water

This needs no explanation. It’s hot. Water is good. Stay hydrated.

7. Take pictures, but don’t take to many

I like to get just enough awesome photos, like this one of We Are The In Crowd singer Tay Jardine, to put some stuff on my instagram and to post on these blogs, but otherwise my phone stays in my pocket.

I like to get just enough awesome photos, like this one of We Are The In Crowd singer Tay Jardine, to put some stuff on my instagram and to post on these blogs, but otherwise my phone stays in my pocket.

I say this a lot when it comes to concerts. That’s because I really mean it. Unless it’s your job to document the show, don’t. Take pictures here and there because there are lots of awesome picture opportunities and your instagram will thank you for it later, but don’t forget to enjoy your day in real time.

8. Watch your battery life

This pretty much sums up the mass majority of my frustration this year. Long gone are days where a cell phone’s battery life could last for days. Now phones can last for a few measly hours. Warped Tour does offer free charging stations, so if you need to charge your phone take advantage of that. But there are also ways to extend your phone’s battery life: refer to the last tip and don’t document the whole show, or put your phone on airplane mode or simply disable your wifi and data. You won’t be able to upload a photo to twitter or tumblr right on the spot, but you also won’t have to sit around waiting for your phone to charge either.

9. Take breaks

Warped Tour can be long and exhausting, so find ways to pace yourself. Most likely you will have a bit of down time here and there between bands you really want to see or meet. Take that time to find a nice spot in the grass or in a chair and take a few minutes to regain your energy.

10. Go see new bands

Echosmith is a band I've only ever heard of, but I decided to give them a listen at Warped Tour and I ended up having a blast watching them.

Echosmith is a band I’ve only ever heard of, but I decided to give them a listen at Warped Tour and I ended up having a blast watching them.

Warped Tour is full of fresh faces that have huge potential to be the next big thing. For example these artists all took rounds on the Warped Tour prior to massive success: Fall Out Boy, Paramore, My Chemical Romance, Katy Perry and so on. Warped Tour has a bit of a reputation for skyrocketing musical careers, so don’t knock a band just because their young or only have one album out; they may be too big to rock the Warped Tour next year. Besides Warped Tour is an excellent chance to discover new bands and to open yourself up to new musical possibilities, so don’t waste it!

Also check out Warped Tour’s 101 guide on things to note if you plan on attending the show.

To see more of my concert photos, follow me on my instagram. Also remember to follow me on Twitter and Tumblr!

Here are some more memories from my day at Warped Tour 2014

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Concert Survival Guide #3: Warped Tour Edition

  1. […] @christie_road91: “This is how I started my morning at #WarpedTour2014! #TheMaine” This was my first time seeing Saves The Day since Chris Conley had pink hair. (@christie_road91: “#SavesTheDay #WarpedTour2014″) Echosmith is probably one of my favorite new bands this year! I mean I am making their song “Bright” a pretty important feature in my wedding. (@christie_road91: “#Echosmith #WarpedTour2014″) Third time’s the charm! (@christie_road91: “And again #TheMaine #WarpedTour2014″) This holds a high level of bragging rights in certain circles. (@christie_road91: “I got to meet these guys too #SavesTheDay #WarpedTour2014″) You can’t have summer without Less Than Jake. (@christie_road91: “#LessThanJake are always such a blast! #WarpedTour2014″) Seriously I think Warped Tour exposed me to all of my new favorite bands. PVRIS has blown my mind this year! (@christie_road91: “#PVRIS #WarpedTour2014″) Love them. Love this pic. ❤ (@christie_road91: "#TheMaine #WarpedTour2014") Seriously, though, favorite new bands of 2014 (@christie_road91: “#ThisWildLife #WarpedTour2014″) @christie_road91: “#Bayside #WarpedTour2014″ @christie_road91: “Meeting more people #ThisWildLife #WarpedTour2014″ @christie_road91: “#NeckDeep #WarpedTour2014″ This photo shows exactly how cool the band and fan connection is (@christie_road91: “#WeAreTheInCrowd #WATIC #WarpedTour2014″ […]

Leave a comment